I Am Persuaded

“Love is the uniting bond of perfection.”

  • Logos Bible Search

    Bible Search

    Verse:
    John 3:16; Jn 3:16; John 3

    Keyword:
    Salvation, Jesus, Gospel

    With Operators:
    AND, OR, NOT, “ ”

    Add this to your site!

Lord of the Mundane

Posted by Timothy D. Lee on 6 June 2007 (Wednesday)

Kenneth Birch, a Seventh-day Adventist in Denmark, posted some soul-searching thoughts in a devotional entitled “Back to Reality?“:

It can be tempting to build your life as a disciple on events, too. Longing for that spiritual retreat, the camp meeting, the summer camp, or whatever, that “fills us up” in order to go on. Or living from Sabbath to Sabbath, waiting to be “filled up” in church.

Don’t get me wrong, these things can be good, and even necessary. But I believe Jesus wants to be lord also of the mundane. Being a committed Christian is a full-time thing. Not sitting piously in the corner all day, for we need to work to keep the world spinning. But it would be a danger if we built our faith on the expectation of the next big thing. In stead, we ought to build on the rock that is the Word of God – everyday.

His post reminds me of a song I used to sing in Sabbath School (and my kids like to sing now). It’s amazing how much truth is in some of the simple “kid’s” songs.

Read your Bible; pray every day, and you’ll grow, grow, grow.

Neglect your Bible; forget to pray, and you’ll shrink, shrink, shrink.

I want to be growing in my relationship with Jesus, not shrinking!

One Response to “Lord of the Mundane”

  1. Thanks for the link. It continually amazes me how certain I can be of the need for daily devotional time, but when it comes to actually spending that time, somehow I seem to fall short more often than not.

Leave a comment